The Owl, The Moon & The Checkpoint

moon

There was to be no moon, no rain and no decent images. It would have been so much better had the moon been in view as we might actually have seen more than distant silhouettes and a faint burst of torch lights signalling the arrival of the first walkers. This was it, the scene was set for the Sue Ryder Wheatfields Starlight Hike 2013 at Temple Newsham, Leeds. By the way, we did see stars.

Temple Newsam is one of the most admired historic houses in the north of England. Famous as the birthplace of Lord Darnley, infamous husband of Mary Queen of Scots, Temple Newsam is a truly stunning stately home and is set within 1500 acres of beautiful parkland landscaped by the famous designer Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown in the 18th century. We had arrived a couple of hours previous in the chill of the late September air at the central area of Temple Newsham. Floodlights were set up on the main grassed land in front of the house along with a small stage and a few other tents. Elaine and I had volunteered to be marshalls for the event along with a handful of other kind souls giving up their Saturday evening in the name of charity.
1377369_10151888132440831_555344052_nAs the masses started arriving for the 10km walk the volunteers were taken by Land Rover to the various check points on the course. The route was a figure of eight taking in the full expanse of the grounds. Elaine and I were positioned at Marshal Point 1, 8 & 13. Before you start thinking that we did really well to spread ourselves over such a large area the route took a figure of eight which meant that the walkers passed us on three occasions.

Elaine and I were issued with a two-way radio and dropped off at our marshalling point; MP 1. Was this the best? was it the nearest the toilet? did it offer the best vantage point? In a nutshell, none of the above. As the vehicle drove away Elaine and I just laughed out loud. What in the name of all that’s holy was this all about. It was quite dark. In fact, that’s probably an understatement. I said to Elaine, don’t worry your eyes will get used to it once they have adjusted. Nope……

I began to unpack my camera to test the theory of photography in THE DARK. Just for the sake of posterity I decided to take a photograph using my phone of the fantastic view that bestowed Elaine and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

1382993_10151888226135831_1395007728_nOh this was going to be so much fun. I am unsure whether you will have seen the spin-off from Peter Kay’s Phoenix Nights called Max & Paddy’s Road to Nowhere. If you havent there is a scene in this comedy where the two main characters decide to camp in the woods as thier motor home has gone in to a garage to be fixed overnight. They spend all night by a fire, hungry and practically lost. Next morning in the hours of  daylight they find they have been sleeping only yards from a twenty-four hour garage and a hotel. This felt so similar I can tell you. What is quite funny though is the fact that I checked on Google Earth just now and our checkpoint was only 0.72 miles from the M1 yet no traffic could b heard. Then again, how much traffic would there be on the M1 at midnight on a Saturday?

Seconds later we heard a very distinctive noise. “Control to MP1” ah I thought! There is civilisation still out there. They were just checking we had arrived at our post for the next four hours. Yes, you read it right… we were going to be stuck in a forest that resembled a scene from Harry Potter & Chamber of Secrets for four hours… AT NIGHT !

Within seconds of our first radio contact silence once again fell upon us. That was until an Owl decided that despite the presence of Mark and Elaine Winterbourne it would continue the hunt for supper. You could hear the rustle of leaves on the forest floor, the sound of twigs breaking in the canopy above. What in the name of all that’s holy was that? I looked over to where I thought Elaine was stood. So Harry Potter.

img008

Oh this was going to be so much fun.  Time passed and before long we heard on the radio that the masses had started their ten kilometre walk. Elaine and I were trying to mentally estimate how long it would take the slowest walkers to complete the full course. It was very hard to even estimate as walkers were of all abilities…..

Flickering lights could be seen through the trees in the distance, it looked like we had our first walkers and the time was already 22:20. I went to grab my camera out of my bag and aimed to shoot my first images. It was then I realised the problem that presented itself before me. The lack of light for photos was ok if you had a flash gun, but the infra-red beam that the flash sends out to enable the camera to focus was really struggling. I couldn’t even compose the shot in the first place let alone take it. It was like catching flies in the dark with chop sticks. It was totally impossible. I tried illuminating the subject with my torch just so the camera had something to grab hold of but it wasnt having any of it. It was to be a very dry night for my camera, not quite.

The walkers came and went and so did the night, by 01:00 when all the walkers had passed we found ourselves heading back towards the start line and the comfort of food and a warm drink. A big shout out to all the fantastic volunteers at Sue Ryder for a fantastic fundraising evening and to all the walkers who were awesome. Also, a huge thank you to the guy upstairs who controls the weather …. it stayed dry. Which is more than I can say for my camera gear that got soaked with condensation after being stood in the cold night air until 01:00 am.

We finally hit the hay at 02:30 this morning…….. zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

About Mark Winterbourne

A little about me … well, what can I say. I started photography back in 1979 when I was just 11 years old. I was given a 35mm SLR Camera by my late Grandfather as a birthday present. The camera was a Russian built Zenit EM and built like a house brick. Many of my slides on here are taken with the very same camera. My passion stemmed from my Grandfathers love of photography and in particular his fondness of the English Lake District. I will showcase his work on here in the coming months, but there are over 10,000 slides and I have quite a task ahead of me scanning them in. In the late eighties and early nineties I moved on to autofocus SLR’s and began to accumulate quite a stash of equipment. In between my full time employment and sleeping I started doing small photographic assignments for freinds, family and small businesses. In the early 2000′s I started using a digital camera and traed all my traditional film cameras in for more equipment. My Camera Equipment Canon EOS 20D Body BGE2N Battery Grip Canon EOS 50D Body BGE2N Battery Grip Canon 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 EF-S Lens Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Lens Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM Sigma 28-105 F2.8-4 DG Lens Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM Canon 580EX Speedlite Flashgun Canon CP-E4 Compact Battery Pack for 580EX I took an avid interest in aviation photography at the start of the 2000′s when digital cameras became more accessible. My enjoyment was taken up a level when I discovered I could mix my love of light & colour with aviation photography by taking photographs. In 1983 I suffered a head injury which was diagnosed as a brain tumour. LIfe soon returned to normal in 1984 but in the early part of 2002 things turned nasty and headaches and sickness returned. To date I dont have a surgeon willing to operate on me and struggle by day to day. You will find more about this in my blogs……. Nothing will stop my photography, not even this head injury….this blog reflects my day to day life as a person with an interest in photography….with a headache to match Hope you enjoy….please feel free to contact me, anytime

Posted on September 29, 2013, in Photography (General) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

Surviving Traumatic Brain Injury

TBI - Survivors, Caregivers, Family, and Friends

Jon Eland

...and all round good egg

Living A Sporty Life With A Dodgy Ticker

At a young age of 15 I developed heart problems and was diagnosed with, irregular heart beat, palpitations and mitral valve prolapse. I try to live a sporty normal life, it doesn't always work out that way!

leedswaterfrontfestivalblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

A Stairway To Fashion

imagination is the key

ice cream magazines

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

martin m photography blog

wedding photography, portraits, events, sport for more go to www.martinMphotography.com

allmostrelevant

@allmostrelevant

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

Should the BBC's coverage be Wimble -done?

My Wimbledon experience as an irritated viewer

LUST & RUM

New York, thy name's "Delirium"

Dr_IQ

To show the world my world and the world around me

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

LEDfantastic

Ultra low-power lighting solutions

Flying Wisconsin

Sixty airports, sixty counties, four flights!