6 numbers………

I would be worry free………..WRONG !

I am quite sure that with good advice and money management from a trusted source my family and I (and our heirs) would live worry free for years to come. But one of the questions I once asked myself after reading stories of past winners was “How do you keep the vultures at bay”. You know who I mean, not just the long-lost friends and ex relatives (would you really expect something if you were an ex-relative) but the hard up charities and local businesses chancing their arm at an opportunity for funding. But would that be your only fear, I reckon not…consider this:- Would you be youre own worst enemy?
Well I think that would be an easy trap to fall in. If you didn’t have free-money habits up until this point then I reckon that without expert guidance you would be on a slippery slope now. After watching the BBC Television series “The Syndicate”  the first thing I would do is sign the back of the ticket. Maybe this is the advice from Camelot but I am unsure as I failed to find anything on their website. If the afore-mentioned show is anything to go by then this is a prerequisite as a lost ticket can easily fall in to the wrong hands. I can understand that it would be quite easy to get carried away…Do you think that houses and cars are people’s first options? I do…

I would want to remain anonymous..Once people know you’re suddenly wealthy, you’ll be badgered by requests for handouts from everyone from charities to long-lost friends and relatives–not to mention all the financial “experts” who will be vying for your business. After reading a few articles on the www it appears that this the normal rule of thumb.

The trend of winners state that for the first six months after you win the lottery, don’t do anything drastic, like quitting your job, buying a home in the Caribbean, or splashing out for a Ferrari. Meanwhile, set aside a fixed amount for splurgesit’s only natural to want to celebrate your windfall so why not.

Save the big purchases for later. For example, you could rent a house in the area where you were thinking of moving, before you make any commitments. This would give you fallback.  If you need a new car, then could you possibly buy a normal model for now? No, I couldnt….but it would be best to….I don’t have a drive way so It’s quite difficult to imagine something in red that begins with F sat by the kerb outside our house. But, having said that I suppose you would have the ability to check in to a nice hotel and have your new purchases delivered there. I am sure the dealership wouldnt mind.

So what would you buy and what could you actually afford? Well, here goes….

4791208842_b988a3a8a6_z(1)

A Boeing Business Jet would cost you $80 million US Dollars….(or £52.4m  GB Pounds) … now that’s a slightly more than the average UK jackpot winners total.  Compare this to the price of a used Helicopter and you are a looking at a more reasonable $3,550,500.00. And of course you have got storage fees, landing fees etc etc…. On the automobile front a new Ferrari F458 would set you back $257,000.00…a slight difference eh?

The advice given by previous winners suggests that as you’re not accustomed to having a lot of money, it may take some discipline to preserve your winnings and not go on a wild spending spree. One way to restrain yourself is to only spend income–not principal. Especially in today’s investment world, “It takes a lot of principal to generate income and once you start spending principal, the principal quickly dissipates. They recommends putting the money in safe, short-term investments and not even touching it for the first six months. Then ask your advisors is to put together an investment portfolio divided half-and-half between equities (such as stocks) and fixed income (like bonds). Don’t fall for investments that you don’t understand or that sound too good to be true.

On this note, I open my eyes and its time to get up……on the way to the bathroom I look out of the window and the Ferrari is nowhere to be seen…..the dreams are over

About Mark Winterbourne

A little about me … well, what can I say. I started photography back in 1979 when I was just 11 years old. I was given a 35mm SLR Camera by my late Grandfather as a birthday present. The camera was a Russian built Zenit EM and built like a house brick. Many of my slides on here are taken with the very same camera. My passion stemmed from my Grandfathers love of photography and in particular his fondness of the English Lake District. I will showcase his work on here in the coming months, but there are over 10,000 slides and I have quite a task ahead of me scanning them in. In the late eighties and early nineties I moved on to autofocus SLR’s and began to accumulate quite a stash of equipment. In between my full time employment and sleeping I started doing small photographic assignments for freinds, family and small businesses. In the early 2000′s I started using a digital camera and traed all my traditional film cameras in for more equipment. My Camera Equipment Canon EOS 20D Body BGE2N Battery Grip Canon EOS 50D Body BGE2N Battery Grip Canon 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 EF-S Lens Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Lens Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM Sigma 28-105 F2.8-4 DG Lens Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM Canon 580EX Speedlite Flashgun Canon CP-E4 Compact Battery Pack for 580EX I took an avid interest in aviation photography at the start of the 2000′s when digital cameras became more accessible. My enjoyment was taken up a level when I discovered I could mix my love of light & colour with aviation photography by taking photographs. In 1983 I suffered a head injury which was diagnosed as a brain tumour. LIfe soon returned to normal in 1984 but in the early part of 2002 things turned nasty and headaches and sickness returned. To date I dont have a surgeon willing to operate on me and struggle by day to day. You will find more about this in my blogs……. Nothing will stop my photography, not even this head injury….this blog reflects my day to day life as a person with an interest in photography….with a headache to match Hope you enjoy….please feel free to contact me, anytime

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Blogging & Wordpress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Surviving Traumatic Brain Injury

TBI - Survivors, Caregivers, Family, and Friends

Strawbleu

Photographic Editions

Living A Sporty Life With A Dodgy Ticker

At a young age of 15 I developed heart problems and was diagnosed with, irregular heart beat, palpitations and mitral valve prolapse. I try to live a sporty normal life, it doesn't always work out that way!

leedswaterfrontfestivalblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

StevenDavisUK

Best Place to GET Inspired and STAY Motivated

tutorials4view

Watch free tutorials in Full HD (1080p) quality video tutorials, sorted by subjects, like: Photoshop, Gimp, Facebook, Torrents, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Viruses and malware removal ( like ask,com, vqo6, Babylon ) and more and more.. If you like our tutorials and guided, please SUBSCRIBE to out channel at: http://www.youtube.com/user/ShaiSoft - tutorials4view.

via GiantGag.com

Killing time just got a lot funnier !

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Karls Greenhouse

Welcome to my blog where here i will be talking about my first ever attempt at running a greenhouse. Growing flowers with plenty of Learning / Sharing of all of my progress.

martin m photography blog

wedding photography, portraits, events, sport for more go to www.martinMphotography.com

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

My Beauty Blog

beauty, makeup, fun

Should the BBC's coverage be Wimble -done?

My Wimbledon experience as an irritated viewer

LUST & RUM

New York, thy name's "Delirium"

Dr_IQ

To show the world my world and the world around me

